//When Do Property Taxes Become a Lien in Texas?

When Do Property Taxes Become a Lien in Texas?

Property taxes are the main method for funding essential services in Texas, so counties and the state are serious about collecting them. Every year, the bill shows up in homeowners’ mailboxes, reminding them to pay. But if they forget to pay their property taxes, there can be serious consequences once there is a lien on a house.

In this article, we will explain what a lien is, what happens when a lien is placed on your home and how to get a lien off your house. We will also take a look at how Tax Ease can help you with property tax loans and other options that can help you avoid foreclosure.

When Do Property Taxes Become a Lien

What Is a Lien on a House?

A property lien is a legal notice attached to a piece of real property, such as a home, by a creditor when the property owner owes them money. A lien is public record and will be filed with a government agency, such as the county recorder. The lien gives the creditor/lien holder the option to foreclose on your home if the debt is not repaid within a reasonable amount of time.

What Happens When a Lien is Placed on Your Home?

When a creditor puts a lien on a house, that property becomes collateral for the debt. When there is a lien against your property, the title is unclear and you can not refinance or sell your property. The only way to clear up the title is to get the lien removed, so creditors know that putting a lien on property is an easy and effective way of getting the money they’re owed.

Who Can Put a Lien on Your House in Texas?

There are several different types of liens which can be placed on your home, depending on who the creditor is. A property tax lien will be placed on your home by the county tax collector so they can foreclose on your home if necessary to pay delinquent property taxes.

How to Get a Lien Off Your House

In most cases, the only way to remove a lien and stop the accruing penalties and interest charges from late property taxes is to pay the bill in full.

So, when do property taxes become a lien in Texas? On January 1 of each year, a lien is placed against every piece of real property in Texas as a formality. As long as you pay your property taxes by January 31, no further action will be taken and the lien will be released. However, if you do not pay your property taxes by the due date, further action will take place and the lien will remain on your home.

The good news is most counties will give you time beyond February 1 to pay your unpaid property taxes before they begin foreclosure proceedings. Most counties will give you anywhere from 60 days up to more than 120 days to catch up on your back taxes and remove the lien against your property.

If you need assistance making that payment, Tax Ease is here to help with property tax loans. Whether you need a commercial property tax loan or a residential property tax loan, we can help you pay off your unpaid property taxes and remove the lien on your home without a credit check. Plus, Tax Ease will work with you so you can choose a flexible repayment option that will work for your budget. Our interest and penalty chart will help you estimate what your total cost will be so you’re not left guessing.

Tax Ease Logo

Let Tax Ease End the Stress of a Lien on Your Home

For nearly 30 years, Tax Ease has been working with Texas homeowners to help them through the anxiety and stress caused by unpaid property taxes and having a lien against their property.

With Tax Ease, it’s fast and easy to apply for a property tax loan. Just fill out the application and receive approval within 24 hours. Don’t lose any more sleep stressing about a lien on your home. Avoid foreclosure and relax knowing Tax Ease can help.

Apply Today