What Is The Johnson County, Texas Property Tax Rate?
For a home in Johnson County, the property tax rate will vary based on the municipality in which you live. While there is a Johnson County, TX property tax rate of .75%, your local city government will add to that rate to help offset expenses for schools and city services. Here are some other facts you should know about the Johnson County property tax rate:
- The average property tax rate in Johnson County is 1.67% of the assessed fair market value of your property.
- The state’s average property tax rate is 1.81%.
- For property with a median value of $111,800, the property taxes would amount to $1,867 per year.
- Of the 3,143 counties in the state of Texas, Johnson County property taxes are usually ranked at 531st.
- The average yearly property tax you will pay is approximately 2.98% of your yearly income.
What Cities Have To Pay Johnson County Property Taxes?
There are nine cities in Johnson County that have to pay personal property taxes:
- Alvarado (the oldest city in Johnson County)
- Cleburne (the Johnson County seat)
- Rio Vista
While it may seem like the Johnson County property tax rate is high, bear in mind that at least you don’t have to pay income taxes. And the property taxes you pay stay in your neighborhood, providing you with schools and city services like road maintenance and police and fire safety.
What Are The Johnson County Property Tax Due Dates?
Most residents should get their Johnson County personal property tax bill in October. The last day to pay without incurring penalties and interest is January 31st of the following year — the due date for all property taxes in Texas. If January 31st falls on a weekend or occurs on a legal national or state holiday, payment can be made on the following business day. Online forms and additional information are provided by the county treasurer at the Johnson County Tax Office.
How Does The Johnson County Tax Assessor Determine Your Property’s Value?
It’s the tax assessor’s job to set the value of your property based on last year’s value and the resale value of properties in your neighborhood. If you feel your property has been assessed unfairly, you can file a protest with the county appraisal district. Also, keep in mind, you may be able to take advantage of a tax exemption, which is available for property owners who are over 65 years of age. Or, you may qualify for a homestead exemption and get a reduction on your Johnson County, Texas property taxes. You can find out more about property tax exemptions from the office of the Texas Comptroller.
What Happens If I Have Johnson County Delinquent Taxes?
If you don’t pay your Johnson County property taxes by January 31st, penalties and interest will begin to pile up. You can get some idea of how quickly things can get out of control by using this formula: If your tax is paid in (month) add: penalty + interest = Total Percentage (shown below):
- February: 7%
- March: 9%
- April: 11%
- May: 13%
- June: 15%
- July: 18%
Example: If you owe $2,000 in tax but you wait until June to pay, your total amount due will be $2,300.
For each month you’re delinquent after July, you will incur another 1% of interest charges. Furthermore, if your delinquent taxes are not paid in full by June 30th, you will be turned over to delinquent tax attorneys. This means you’ll incur an additional penalty of up to 20% of the total taxes, interest and penalties you owe AND have a tax lien placed on your property. So, you can see why you’ll want to pay the tax collector before you end up on the Johnson County delinquent tax list!